skip to main content


TVA's Tidwell wins site selection award

Jan. 18, 2012 – TVA Economic Development business recruitment specialist Tim Tidwell is a recipient of one of the first annual Excellence in Economic Development Awards given by the Site Selectors Guild.

Tidwell works in TVA's Global Business group. He is a co-winner in the category of Special Jurisdiction Economic Development Organization with Brenda Pfeifer, project manager for the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development. The award winners are recognized for their contributions to job creation and investment attraction in their communities.

“Economic development project partners sometimes go far beyond the call of duty,” says Don Schjeldahl of the Austin Company, who is chair of the Guild’s awards committee. “When this occurs, goods things generally result for the community, the site selector and corporate clients. It’s time site selectors acknowledge these good works, and that is the intent of the awards.”

The awards will be presented at the Guild’s annual conference Jan. 22 in Orlando, Fla. TVA is the only utility to win an award.

“Tim’s dedication, professionalism, and hard work are a big part of TVA’s economic development success, and he is a valuable member of our team,” says John Bradley, TVA senior vice president of Economic Development. “Being co-winners with the State of Tennessee shows the value of working projects through partnerships with power distributors, regional, state and local economic development officials, and community leaders in the Valley.”

Tennessee was also spotlighted in the Metro EDO award category, where Mark Herbison, senior vice president of economic development for the Greater Memphis Chamber, was the winner.

“Guild members believe these folks don’t get the credit they deserve,” says Robert Ady of Ady International Company, president of the Guild. “This is an extremely competitive industry, so when we come across organizations and teams who do extraordinary work, we truly appreciate their professionalism.”

For a full list of award winners, view the Site Selectors Guild press release (PDF).